Grrr Sneaky Processed Foods

So I have been trying since the completing the Master Cleanse to ease out processed foods or at least eliminate most. Processed foods, however, are sneaky little buggers lurking everywhere. I was disappointed to find that the 100% whole wheat English muffins I purchased had 26 ingredients! I’ve never really spent much time looking at ingredient lists of foods I buy. I was also disappointed to find that frozen shrimp with lime and cilantro I bought from Trader Joes had a laundry list of ingredients, may of which sounded more like complicated chemicals than food. You would think that some shrimp skewers with lime and herbs you grill would seem healthy enough right? I’m really going to have to pay more attention to labels from now on. I went grocery shopping at Trader Joes again tonight and everything I bought was fresh, I didn’t even go through the frozen aisles or bagged items aisle. I’m throwing a party this weekend and I’m making a handful of appetizers, I’m pretty sure none of them include anything processed, I will share what I made this weekend 😉

Here’s a link to a great blogger about processed foods:

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/real-food-defined-a-k-a-the-rules/

unnamedl

My yummy dinner: Salad of baby spinach, mushrooms, avocado, goat cheese, evoo and lemon juice, a hardboiled egg and sautéed sugar snap peas and red vino!

Questions? Comments?

❤ Shel

 

4 Comments

  1. Talking about a laundry list of ingredients, I hate that! Was grocery shopping yesterday and I couldn’t no bothered to read all the ingredients. If the list was too long, I just dropped it. That said, I have realized that I eat a lot of things out of boxes. 😦

Leave a Reply

